---
title: Deleting a Record (Retractions)
description: "How to Delete a Record in the System (Retractions) ## System Retractions Symbiant is built to have robust record protection, this includes when deleting records, Any record that gets \"Deleted\" is **classed as Retracted**, no record is truly ever deleted…"
url: "https://support.symbiant.co.uk/kb/deleting-a-record/"
updated: "2024-04-12"
category: User Basics
tags:
  - Delete
---

# Deleting a Record (Retractions)

How to Delete a Record in the System (Retractions)

## System Retractions

Symbiant is built to have robust record protection, this includes when deleting records,

Any record that gets "Deleted" is **classed as Retracted**, no record is truly ever deleted (As you may want to recover these in the future)

To recover a record please check out [Restoring a Deleted Record (Archived)](https://support.symbiant.co.uk/kb/record-recovery/)

## Deleting a Record via the Dashboard

To delete a record, click the **three-dotted** icon next to the record.

![](https://support.symbiant.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/Risk-Data-Three-Dots.webp)

Click **Delete**.

![](https://support.symbiant.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/Three-Dots-Delete.webp)

## Deleting while in a Record

Alternatively, select a record,

![](https://support.symbiant.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/Selecting-a-Risk-Record.webp)

Clicking the minus icon will also delete the record,

![](https://support.symbiant.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/Record-Delete.webp)

Select the confirmation prompt and the record will be deleted (Archived).

![](https://support.symbiant.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2022/05/Delete-Prompt.webp)

## System Retractions Further Explanation

When a Record or Item is "Deleted" to the System this marks a point in time that this data object is deemed as **Retracted**,

There are a few key features of the Retraction System:

1. Retracted Records don't appear in Live Data Reports, Graphs, or Lists,
2. Retracted Records can be recovered at any point,
3. No Data is lost when "Deleting", it is simply a mark stating this record/data item is no longer relevant now,
4. Unrelevant Records/Data Items can be safely "Deleted" to reduce clutter in Modules,
5. A detailed Log is kept of all Retractions ensuring accountability,
6. Retractions can be used as part of a Data Cleanup without worrying about losing data.
